Sport Waikato’s Sports Awards season is all go for the upcoming District Sports Awards, celebrating the 2019 sporting excellence in our region.  

Nominations have now closed and judging will be taking place shortly for the District Sports Awards held throughout November. Most of the districts in the region have their own awards event with category winners going forward to be considered for the prestigious Brian Perry Waikato Regional Sports Awards, held on Thursday 30th January 2020.

Sport Waikato CEO Matthew Cooper says he is impressed with the quality of nominees from a wide variety of sports nominated this year.

“It’s so encouraging to see a range of sporting codes represented in the nominations - from rugby union to football, and cricket to hockey. Thanks to all those who took the time to nominate - the sporting talent in our region is inspiring and I am really looking forward to our awards evening and celebrating our district’s success,” Cooper said.

The Lines Company Otorohanga District Sports Awards will this year be held at the Otorohanga Sports Club on Wednesday 6 November with awards starting at 7pm. Supper is included in the evening and the night will be hosted by MC Camille Guzzwell with special guest speaker for the evening Brooke Donoghue
Tickets cost $20 and are available for purchase online at
Sport Waikato District Sports Awards events will take place in Taupo, South Waikato, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Hamilton and Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel districts during the month of November. Check out to follow the announcements of the winners on each of the awards nights.


For Otorohanga awards enquiries, contact Gilly Alexander
07 858 5388 or email 



Craig Thomas Netball
Daniel Hopping Football
Fiona Parsons Multiple Sports
Otorohanga Football Club
Trust Power Otorohanga Netball Centre
Hutana Coffin Rugby Union
Mark McKenzie Football
Marrianne Walton Netball
Emerging Talent
Cortez Ratima Rugby Union
Jacob Marcroft Football
Keighley Brough Rugby Union
Sina Hetet Rugby Union
Innovation in Sport and Recreation
Trust Power Otorohanga Friday Night Netball
Secondary School Sportsperson
Charlotte Needham Football
Erin Hunt Cricket
Jessica Russell Netball
Jo Butcher Netball
Service to Sport
Dorothy Carr Netball
Emma Telfer Football
Judy Board Hockey
Haereiti Hetet Rugby Union
Bulklines Otorohanga Men's A Football Team
Kiwitown Electrical Otorohanga Women's Football Team
Otorohanga Sports Club McKenzie Strawbridge Premier Blues Rugby Development Team

The Lines Company Otorohanga District Sports Awards 2019 nominations are in!

More News Articles

2023 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - Winners

2023 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - Winners


The 2023 winners were announced at Sport Waikato's Let’s Move Waikato event held at Claudelands....

Click to read more

2023 Annual Report is live!

2023 Annual Report is live!


We're pretty proud of the work we do, and the impact that we're creating in our communities, alongside our incredible partners. Read more about the work we do...

Click to read more

Growing Connections Through Play, Active Recreation, Sport and Curriculum

Growing Connections Through Play, Active Recreation, Sport and Curriculum


A capability building event for primary, intermediate and secondary school principals, teachers, sports coordinators and sport staff as well as those leaders working in community sport and recreation settings...

Click to read more

Creating an Equal Playing Field

Creating an Equal Playing Field


Equity means catering to individual need. But, what could this look like? How do we create equal and equitable playing fields?

Click to read more