Sport Waikato’s Sports Awards season is all go for the upcoming District Sports Awards, celebrating the 2018 sporting excellence in our region.  

Nominations have now closed and judging will be taking place shortly for the District Sports Awards held throughout November. Most of the districts in the region have their own awards event with category winners going forward to be considered for the prestigious Brian Perry Waikato Regional Sports Awards, held on Thursday 31st January 2019.

Taupo District Coordinator Christine Turton says she is impressed with the quality of nominees from a wide variety of sports nominated this year.

“It’s so encouraging to see the range of sporting codes represented in the nominations with everything from boxing to cycling, and waterskiing to table tennis. Thanks to all those who took the time to nominate - the sporting talent in our region is inspiring and I am really looking forward to our awards evening and celebrating our district’s success,” Turton said.
The Wairakei Resort Taupo District Sports Awards will this year be held at Wairakei Resort on Friday 9 November with awards starting at 6.30pm. A buffet dinner is included in the evening and the night will be hosted by MC Kylie Hawker-Green.
Additional tickets are available for purchase from Christine Turton at Taupo Sport House, AC Baths Avenue, Taupo. Tickets cost $55.00.
Sport Waikato District Sports Awards events will take place in Taupo, South Waikato, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Hamilton and Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel districts during the month of November. Check out to follow the announcements of the winners on each of the awards nights.




Jodie Hart Rugby Union
Nicole Bol Motor Sport
Stephanie Ngamotu-Tahana Rugby League


Taupo Motorcycle Club
Taupo Table Tennis Club
Tsunami Southern Tribes Tuwharetoa Brazilian Jiujitsu Club


Barbara Clarke Netball
BJ Tahana Rugby League
Jarrod Mudford Shooting
Paul Hallett Rugby Union
Powell Marshall Boxing
Robyn Harrison Hockey

Secondary School Sportsperson                             

Alex Brackenbury Triathlon
Briar Burnett-Grant Equestrian
Caitlin Simpson Shooting
Campbell Maclean Hockey
Case Mastny-Jensen Waterskiing
Conrad Clark Motor Sport
Cuda Tawhai Swimming
Fynn Powell Snow Sports
Georgia Robinson Netball
Hannah Howell Triathlon
Jaundre Pienaar Athletics
Johnson Bishop Swimming
Jonathan Lewai Athletics
Jono Sargison Cycling
Jorja Neill Cricket
Lachlan Powell Snow Sports
Legacy Katene Rugby League
Matthew Farquhar Bowls
Olly Monkman Golf
Pauline Wi Netball
Ruamano Akuhata Touch Rugby
Sammie Maxwell Cycling
Sophie Howell Triathlon
Tangiariki Wanikau Martial Arts
Wilson Simmonds Golf


Jess Te Paki Netball
Kieran Smith Rugby Union
Mark Willis Martial Arts

Secondary School Contribution to Sport

Josh McDougall Hockey
Kataraina Fredricksen Hockey

Service to Sport                                                     

Ian Dykes Cricket


Brad Groombridge Motor Sport
Dave Kilmister Table Tennis
Nicole van der Kaay Triathlon
Samantha Bradley Triathlon
Tau Thompson Martial Arts


Tauhara College Open A Netball Netball
Taupo Phoenix Rugby League Club Under 17s Rugby League
Taupo Senior Men's Hockey Team Hockey
Taupo Senior Women's Hockey Team Hockey
Taupo-Nui-a-Tia College 1st XI Boys Hockey Team Hockey
Taupo-Nui-a-Tia College Premier Netball Netball


Taupo District Sports Awards nominations are in!

More News Articles

2022 Annual Report is live!

2022 Annual Report is live!


We’re pretty proud of the work we do to keep the communities of the Waikato region active

Click to read more

How do we ensure sport includes the everyday woman or girl?

How do we ensure sport includes the everyday woman or girl?


Picture this: A young girl is in the front frow of the Black Ferns world cup semi-final against France. The final whistle has blown and the crowd around her erupts in celebration....

Click to read more

THE VALUE OF HPE in a whole school approach to wellbeing

THE VALUE OF HPE in a whole school approach to wellbeing


Over 160 Principals and Health & Physical Education (HPE) lead teachers came together at Claudelands Events Centre.

Click to read more

2022 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - FINALISTS ANNOUNCED! 

2022 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - FINALISTS ANNOUNCED! 


Finalists announced in the 2022 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards.  

Click to read more