Sport Waikato’s Sports Awards season is all go for the upcoming District Sports Awards, celebrating 2019 sporting excellence in our region. 
Nominations have now closed and judging will be taking place shortly for the District Sports Awards held throughout November. Most of the districts in the region have their own awards event with category winners going forward to be considered for the prestigious Brian Perry Waikato Regional Sports Awards, held on Thursday 30th January 2020.
Sport Waikato CEO Matthew Cooper says he is impressed with the quality of nominees from a wide variety of sports nominated this year.
“It’s so encouraging to see the range of sporting codes represented in the nominations with everything from football to squash, and cheerleading to water polo. Thanks to all those who took the time to nominate - the sporting talent in our region is inspiring and I am really looking forward to our awards evening and celebrating our city’s success,” Cooper said.
The Hamilton City Sports Awards supported by Hamilton City Council will this year be held at the Hamilton Gardens Pavilion on Thursday 7 November with refreshments from 5pm and awards starting at 5.30pm. Camille Guzzwell from the Breeze is MC for the evening. 
Tickets cost $20.00 and are available for purchase online at
Sport Waikato District Sports Awards events will take place in Taupo, South Waikato, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Hamilton and Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel districts during the month of November. Check out to follow the announcements of the winners on each of the awards nights.

For Hamilton awards enquiries, contact Gilly Alexander
07 858 5388 or email 



Anna White Multiple Sports
Jacqui Sutton Multiple Sports
Jane Schilov Multiple Sports
Katherine Don Football
Lillian Martin Badminton
Lyn Harris Athletics
Nicola Blake Squash
Rachel Birdling Rowing
Susannah Leydon-Davis Badminton
Flyers Junior Basketball Club Basketball
Fraser Tech Netball Club Netball
Hamilton BMX Club Cycling
Lugton Park Squash Club Squash
Massé Incorporated Club Cue Sports
Community Coach
Cory Harper Multiple Sports
Dan Goodwin Football
Filip Wurzel Indoor Hockey
Gary Robertson Rowing
Jack Clayton Hockey
Jason Pope Netball
John Goodwin Athletics
Jono Kraenzlin Basketball
Kent Pryor Football
Lauren Jakes Cheerleading
Lynne Soepnel Dragon Boating
Miguel Raman Cue Sports
Mike Guest Athletics
Natalie Broadhead Football
Paul Hanton Badminton
Rachael Sadler Gymnastics
Rahiti Teokotai-White Water Polo
Robyn Slade Football
Tamainu Huirama Touch
Tracey Nolan Cheerleading
Bree Williams Rugby Union
Larissa Collingwood Rugby Union
Ruth Robinson Netball
Secondary School Contribution to Sport
Andrew Olsen Football
Jaxson Fisher Basketball
Lucy Boucher Football
Mackenzie Hoskin Water Polo
Page Wilson Netball
Secondary School Sportswoman
Aimee Ferguson Athletics
Alexandria Endres Cue Sports
Alison Mills Rowing
Amreen Virk Badminton
Anika Jackson Squash
Gina McCarthy Swimming
Grace Wisnewski Football
Hannah Simpson Surf Lifesaving
Holly Isaac Swimming
Kayla Goodwin Athletics
Keita Perry Lacrosse
Koha a te Atua Lewis Basketball
Lily Carr Paterson Netball
Perrie Macdonald Trampolining
Reese Anderson Basketball
Vici-Rose Green Rugby Union
Zahraa Bester Golf
Zoe Kennedy Water Skiing
Secondary School Sportsman
Ben Littlejohn Swimming
Ben Trim Archery
Brandon Fletcher Inline Hockey
Callum Donlon Football
Charles Annals Athletics
Cooper Merito Cycling
David Hancock Cricket
Drake Walther Baseball
Drew Christensen Cycling
Fletcher Clark Inline Hockey
Frazer Tam Inline Hockey
George Ott Football
Gideon Wrampling Rugby Union
Jack West Gymnastics
James Findlay Touch
Jarod Robert Volleyball
Kiaan Watts Cycling
Kieran Dempsey Cue Sports
Kristian Clarke Cricket
Kuwyn Price Cricket
Kyle Smith Volleyball
Marcus Ross Cycling
Mattheus Pio Athletics
Matthew Dobbyn Rugby Union
Rico D'Anvers Cycling
Sam Ratima Water Polo
Tapaea Cook-Savage Rugby Union
Service to Sport
Barry Kavanaugh Squash
David Phipps Gundog Trials
Glenn Sexton Athletics
Margaret Shaw Squash
Robyn Walker Gymnastics
Club Team
Lugton Park Squash Club Cousins Shield Team
University of Waikato Badminton Team
University of Waikato Netball Club Premier Team

Hamilton City Sports Awards 2019 nominees are in!

More News Articles

‘Positive Vibes Only’ sideline behaviour campaign launches in the Waikato region

‘Positive Vibes Only’ sideline behaviour campaign launches in the Waikato region


Head down to any sports field on a Saturday morning and you’re more than likely to encounter some negative sideline behaviour...

Click to read more

This is ME® Online Workshop: Empowering Physical Activity Providers

This is ME® Online Workshop: Empowering Physical Activity Providers


Launch of Online Modules to Boost Women and Girls’ Participation

Click to read more

Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan renewed after 12 months of work

Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan renewed after 12 months of work


Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan provides a high-level strategic framework for play, active recreation, and sport facilities, including spaces and places planning and optimisation guidance across the region.

Click to read more

Hamilton Marist developing regions first artificial surface for multiple codes

Hamilton Marist developing regions first artificial surface for multiple codes


Hamilton Marist are aiming to meet a demand for playing fields by developing the regions first artificial surface suitable for rugby, football, and multiple other sporting codes. 

Click to read more