Sport Waikato’s Sports Awards season is all go for the upcoming District Sports Awards, celebrating the 2018 sporting excellence in our region.  

Nominations have now closed and judging has taken place for the District Sports Awards held throughout November. Most of the districts in the region have their own awards event with category winners going forward to be considered for the prestigious Brian Perry Waikato Regional Sports Awards, held on Thursday 31st January 2019.

Waipa District Coordinator Rebecca Foy says she is impressed with the quality of nominees from a wide variety of sports nominated this year.

“It’s so encouraging to see the range of sporting codes represented in the nominations with everything from football to motor sport, and cycling to lacrosse. Thanks to all those who took the time to nominate - the sporting talent in our region is inspiring and I am really looking forward to our awards evening and celebrating our district’s success,” Foy said.

Celebrating 30 years of Waipa awards, the Waipa Networks District Sports Awards will this year be held at the Don Rowlands Centre at Lake Karapiro on Monday 19 November with awards starting at 7pm. A buffet dinner is included in the evening and the night will be hosted by MCs Camille Guzzwell and Eric Murray. The special guest speakers for the evening are Camille Buscomb and Ellesse Andrews.
Additional tickets are available for purchase online at Tickets cost $50.50.
Sport Waikato District Sports Awards events will take place in Taupo, South Waikato, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Hamilton and Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel districts during the month of November. Check out to follow the announcements of the winners on each of the awards nights.




Aroha Kara Netball
Donna Milling Netball
Rachael Thomas Swimming
Sean Christian Cycling
Sheryll Whitt Football
Steve Carter Cricket
Tim Bailey Football




Cambridge Athletics Club Athletics
Cambridge BMX Club Cycling
Cambridge Kenpo 5.0 Martial Arts
Cambridge Motorcycle Club Motor Sport
Cambridge Racquets Club Tennis
Kihikihi Table Tennis Club Table Tennis
St Peter's Swimming Club Swimming
Te Awamutu BMX Club Cycling
Te Awamutu College Rugby Club Rugby Union
Cambridge Netball Centre Netball


Angela Russek Athletics
Carl Gordon Swimming
Colin Dixon Cycling
Fiona Carswell Cycling
Janey Wackrow Rowing
Josh Wedlake Rowing
Julian Coutts Cricket
Leanne Walker Basketball
Natasha Singh Lacrosse
Norm Charlton Rowing
Sean Hohneck Rugby Union
Tim Carswell Cycling

Emerging Talent

Ashton Reiser Canoe racing
Cole McOnie Cycling
Ellesse Andrews Cycling
George Jackson Cycling
Hannah Blackwood Swimming
Matthew Fisher Cricket
Rebecca Petch Cycling

Innovation in Sport & Recreation

Avantidrome Community Trikes
Cambridge Athletic & Harrier Club
St Peter's Catholic School
Te Awamutu Seriously Cycling Group
Te Awamutu Squash Club

Secondary School Sportsperson                                  

Aaron Bruce Martial Arts
Alexandra Hollands Martial Arts
Ally Woollaston Cycling
Annalies Kalma Athletics
April Foster Waterskiing
Beckie Leigh Rowing
Bennett Greenough Cycling
Blake Ross Cycling
Brooke Kilmister Rowing
Charli Miller Athletics
Charlie Lester-Rossan Cycling
Charlisse Leger Walker Basketball
Diadre Herrick Judo
Ella Bradley Basketball
Ethan McKenzie Waterskiing
Finn Fisher-Black Cycling
Focus Jonglikit Golf
Georgie Edgecombe Netball
Haereakau Tihi Athletics
Hamish Banks Cycling
Hinewai Knowles Rowing
Holly Williams Rowing
Ing Iadpluem Golf
Jack Heaslip Rowing
Jack Carswell Cycling
Jason Nel Rowing
Jodi Mouat Lacrosse
Leah Belfield Athletics
Leila Walker Cycling
Linita Raukawa Hip Hop
Kieran Leng Judo
Maddi Douglas Cycling
Meghan Hood Snow Sports
Mya Anderson Cycling
Rachael Archer Motor Sport
Reuben Webster Cycling
Reuben Thompson Triathlon
Ruby Rogers Snow Sports
Sam Bain Adventure Racing
Simon Parker Rugby Union
Sophie Unsworth Lacrosse
Tabitha Mason Lacrosse
Tasman Wakelin Cycling
Thomas Fraser Rowing
Tyler Tapper Swimming
William Leigh Waterskiing
Xander White Cycling


Ella Higgins Netball
Grant Cotterell Rugby Union
Kazuko Tapper Swimming
Kieran Thomas Rugby Union
Kylie Robson Netball

Secondary School Contribution to Sport                      

Alice Hill Multiple Sports
Anri Kruger Multiple Sports
Charlotte Mansell Basketball
Dean van den Berg Multiple Sports
Matthew McHugh Multiple Sports
Nia Dixon Cycling
Renee Edge Lacrosse
Skye Thompson Multiple Sports

Service to Sport                                                          

Evan de La Rue Rugby Union
Gayle Blackwell Motor Sport
Joe Sprangers Multiple Sports
Judy Hoffman Hockey
Keith Bain Multiple Sports
Linda Sprangers Multiple Sports
Ross Wardlaw Rugby Union
Shelley Blair Swimming


Alice Mason Athletics
Brooke Donoghue Rowing
Hannah Osborne Rowing
Joelle King Squash
Luka Ellery Rowing
Paige Flynn Swimming
Rushlee Buchanan Cycling
Sam Gaze Cycling
Tegan Crotty Swimming
Tim Seifert Cricket


2017 Te Awamutu Special Olympics Nationals Team
Cambridge Football Club Under 19s Team
St Peter's Swimming Club South Australian State Short Course Championship Team
St Peter’s School Cambridge 1st XV Rugby Team
St Peter’s School Cambridge Boys U17 Rowing Four
St Peter’s School Cambridge Girls U17 Rowing Four
St Peter’s School Cambridge Girls U18 Rowing Eight
St Peter’s School Cambridge Premier Girls Basketball Team
St Peter’s School Cambridge Premier Girls Lacrosse Team

2018 Waipa Networks Sports Awards nominees announced!

More News Articles

2023 Annual Report is live!

2023 Annual Report is live!


We're pretty proud of the work we do, and the impact that we're creating in our communities, alongside our incredible partners. Read more about the work we do...

Click to read more

Growing Connections Through Play, Active Recreation, Sport and Curriculum

Growing Connections Through Play, Active Recreation, Sport and Curriculum


A capability building event for primary, intermediate and secondary school principals, teachers, sports coordinators and sport staff as well as those leaders working in community sport and recreation settings...

Click to read more

Creating an Equal Playing Field

Creating an Equal Playing Field


Equity means catering to individual need. But, what could this look like? How do we create equal and equitable playing fields?

Click to read more

2023 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - FINALISTS ANNOUNCED!

2023 Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards - FINALISTS ANNOUNCED!


The fourth year of the Waikato Sport & Active Recreation Awards has seen a record number of nominations from around the Waikato region.

Click to read more