Sport Waikato’s Sports Awards season is all go for the upcoming District Sports Awards, celebrating the 2018 sporting excellence in our region.  
Nominations have now closed and judging has taken place for the District Sports Awards held throughout November. Most of the districts in the region have their own awards event with category winners going forward to be considered for the prestigious Brian Perry Waikato Regional Sports Awards, held on Thursday 31st January 2019.
Sport Waikato’s Regional Capability and Events Coordinator Gilly Alexander says she is impressed with the quality of nominees from a wide variety of sports nominated this year.
“It’s so encouraging to see the range of sporting codes represented in the nominations with everything from cricket to waka ama, and martial arts to lacrosse. Thanks to all those who took the time to nominate - the sporting talent in our region is inspiring and I am really looking forward to our awards evening and celebrating our district’s success,” Alexander said.
The Hamilton City Sports Awards supported by Hamilton City Council will this year be held at the Hamilton Gardens Pavilion on Thursday 7 November with refreshments from 5pm and awards starting at 5.30pm. The special guest speaker for the night is Camille Buscomb with Camille Guzzwell from the Breeze as MC. 
Additional tickets are available for purchase online at or from Sport Waikato, Wintec Rotokauri Campus, 51 Akoranga Road. Tickets cost $20.00.
Sport Waikato District Sports Awards events will take place in Taupo, South Waikato, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Hamilton and Hauraki/Thames-Coromandel districts during the month of November. Check out to follow the announcements of the winners on each of the awards nights.

Gilly Alexander - Sport Waikato Regional Capability and Events Coordinator

07 858 5388 or 027 289 9807 or email 





Alex Bedford Hockey
Belinda Wilson Hockey
Damien Puddle Parkour
Georgia Lichtwark Badminton
Jane Wilson Swimming
Steve Leppien Softball
Tony Hall Rugby Union


Hamilton BMX Club Incorporated Cycling
Hamilton City Hawks Club Athletics
Hamilton Old Boys & Old Girls Hockey Club Hockey
Horsham Downs Badminton Club Badminton


Callum Holyoake Hockey
Janice Fraser Cricket
Jessie Tsu-Shi Wang Karate
Kuini Thompson Netball
Megan Timmo Netball
Michael Polley Volleyball
Raewyn Keene Netball
Rhett Flight Parkour
Rhiana Wheadon Netball
Richard Petherick Hockey
Tara Tissink Inline Hockey
Turanita Tipene Netball


Allan Jones Rugby Union
Ben Norman Football
Caleb Laurent Hockey
Hollie Cooke Lacrosse

Secondary School Contribution to Sport

Alanis Barnes Hockey
Alesha  Barnes Hockey
Georgia Bodle Netball
Kacey Nicholls Netball
Jake Russ Multiple Sports
Page Wilson Netball

Secondary School Sportswoman

Aimee Ferguson Athletics
Alexandria Endres Cue Sports
Alyxandra Jones Cue Sports
Amelia Glover Swimming
Anika Jackson Squash
Arorangi Totorewa Tauranga Touch Rugby
Awatea Wharakura Waka Ama
Ella Kennedy Swimming
Emma Barker Rowing
Georgina McCarthy Swimming
Grace Watson Rowing
Holly Mills Rowing
Hylan Potts Touch Rugby
Jana Kivell Inline Hockey
Jazmin Hotham Rugby Union
Josie Cox Lacrosse
Joyce Tsai Martial Arts
Kayla Goodwin Athletics
Keita Perry Lacrosse
Kendra Peart-Anderson Hockey
Kiriana Nolan Rugby Union
Lily Hansen Hockey
Madison Fox Inline Hockey
McKenzie Milne Cycling
Meeki Cooper Nicola Softball
Montessa Taikarena Rugby Union
Peyton Tofaeono Swimming
Sarah Miller Swimming
Tuhi-Mareikura Hopa-Thomson Inline Hockey
Zeta Hittmann Rock Climbing
Zxy Cullen Netball

Secondary School Sportsman

Angus Riordan Cycling
Ben Littlejohn Swimming
Campbell Crouch Rowing
Chase Hennessey Karate
Danyon Hardie Swimming
Hamish Kennedy Swimming
Gideon Wrampling Rugby Union
Jared Iti Waka Ama
Jon Jon Zhao Table Tennis
Martin Tamoaieta Rowing
Maxim Stephens Basketball
Raukawa Jefferies Karate
Ryan Marshall Wrestling
Samuel Cook Cycling
Temwa Chileshe Squash
Thomas Martin Rugby Union
Willem van Vroonhoven Powerchair Football

Service to Sport

Adrianna Ball Badminton
Chris Kuggeleijn Cricket
Margaret Holcroft Athletics
Pearl Best Roller Skating
Peter Cawkwell Hockey

Club Team

Aber Old Boys Men’s Hockey Team
Hamilton Volleyball Club’s Senior Women’s Team
Melville United AFC Men's Northern League Team

2018 Hamilton City Sports Awards nominees announced!

More News Articles

‘Positive Vibes Only’ sideline behaviour campaign launches in the Waikato region

‘Positive Vibes Only’ sideline behaviour campaign launches in the Waikato region


Head down to any sports field on a Saturday morning and you’re more than likely to encounter some negative sideline behaviour...

Click to read more

This is ME® Online Workshop: Empowering Physical Activity Providers

This is ME® Online Workshop: Empowering Physical Activity Providers


Launch of Online Modules to Boost Women and Girls’ Participation

Click to read more

Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan renewed after 12 months of work

Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan renewed after 12 months of work


Waikato Regional Active Spaces Plan provides a high-level strategic framework for play, active recreation, and sport facilities, including spaces and places planning and optimisation guidance across the region.

Click to read more

Hamilton Marist developing regions first artificial surface for multiple codes

Hamilton Marist developing regions first artificial surface for multiple codes


Hamilton Marist are aiming to meet a demand for playing fields by developing the regions first artificial surface suitable for rugby, football, and multiple other sporting codes. 

Click to read more