Back to Programmes

Weekly rugby competitions are organised by the Waikato Secondary School Rugby Association (administration completed by the Waikato Rugby Union) and the Thames Valley Rugby Union.  King Country schools play as part of the Waikato SS Rugby Association competition.

The Waikato SS 7s Tournament, as qualifier for the Condor 7s National Tournament is organised by the Waikato Rugby Union

If you wish for any player or coach development, or wish for links to your local clubs, please contact your local rugby union representative below.

Eligibility Criteria

Please be aware for 1st XV rugby teams, that there is a quota of students who are new to school that are permitted to play in the team.  This applies to all national competitions and any qualifiers for these competitions.  It also includes the Waikato Secondary School 1st XV competition as sanctioned by the Central North Island Secondary School Principals Association.

The NZSSSC ruling states that for a school team to be eligible to compete, the team must not exceed the quota of students new to the school in the 2 years preceding the first day of the event.  Teams will be limited to a maximum of two non domestic students (or one for sports with a quota of one) and any non domestic student must always be included in the quota

For rugby union, the quota is 6 new to school students and for rugby 7s, the quota is 3 Please ensure selectors and teachers in charge of rugby are aware of this ruling when picking their top teams.


Wayne Bootten - Logistics - Waikato Rugby

07 839 5675

[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.