Back to Programmes

Athletic events are held in each region in conjunction with Waikato/BOP Athletics and Waikato Secondary School Athletics Association

Schools should hold their school athletics day prior to the zone events.  Students who are selected to represent their school compete at their regions zone athletics day.  The regions include

  • Central Zone (All Hamilton, Cambridge and Morrinsville Schools)
  • Thames Valley
  • Mid Island (South Waikato district)
  • King Country (Te Awamutu, Otorohanga, Te Kuiti, Piopio, Taumarunui and North Waikato Cluster Schools - Raglan, Nga Taiatea, Ngaruawahia, Huntly)
From here, students will qualify for the Waikato/BOP Secondary School Athletics Championships held in Tauranga or Hamilton. Students who place well at this event will then qualify to represent the Waikato/BOP Region at the North Island Secondary School Athletics Championships which are held nead the end of term one.  The New Zealand Secondary School Track, Field and Road Championships are held in December every year - there is no qualifying for this event and athletes represent their school.


Brad Smith - Chairperson of the Waikato SS Athletics Association

Tony Rogers - Secondary School Executive Director

07 858 5388

027 488 3279